About West Papua

West Papua: Western Half of the Isle of New Guinea is called the Republic of West Papua.

Previously called the “Netherlands New Guinea” (Nederlandsch Nieuw Guinea) during colonial time, and then transferred to the United Nations Temporary Executive Administration (UNTEA) under the name of West Irian. Later on, after UNTEA handed over West Irian to Indonnesian neo-colonial occupation, it is called Irian Barat, Irian Jaya and Papua respectively under the Indonesian colonial rule.

The name “West Papua” is the official name of a country on the Western half of New Guinea island, to be recognised as an independent nation-state soon in this era (21st century). 

Currently, under Indonesian neocolonial rule, the territory is divided into 6 Provinces inside West Papua territory: Papua, Papua Pegunungan, Pepua Tengah, Papua Selatan, Papua Barat Daya and Papua Barat provinces.

The territory of West Papua shares its border with the Independent State of Papua New Guinea on the eastern part, Republic of Indonesia on the western border, the Philippines on the north, and Australia on the Southern border.

Suara Papua Merdeka News (SPMNews) @papuapost.com 

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist

Are you sure want to unlock this post?
Unlock left : 0
Are you sure want to cancel subscription?